Tourism Industry Coincil Tasmania

Tasmanian Tourism Champions & Tourism Minister's Young Achiever

Tasmanian Tourism Champion

The Tasmanian Tourism Champion is the Tasmanian tourism industry’s highest individual honor.

This award is conferred each year by Tourism Industry Council Tasmania to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Tasmanian tourism industry through their investments, leadership, advocacy, professional, or voluntary service.

Karen Phillips

2023 Tasmanian Tourism Champion, Karen Phillips

The 2023 Tasmanian Tourism Champion is award-winning operator, pioneering industry advocate and volunteer, Karen Phillips.

Karen Phillips has spent more than 40 years in tourism, dedicating herself to the industry but also to mentoring others.

Karen and her husband founded ‘Apartments on Fraser Bicheno’ in 2017 – a multi-award-winning self-contained accommodation business on Tasmania’s stunning east coast.

On top of this, Karen has volunteered her time and expertise on numerous committees and boards, such as Bicheno Beams, Women In Tourism & Hospitality Tasmania, Bicheno Food and Wine Festival, and many others.

Her hard work has resulted in her being recognised with several awards, including Visit Northern Tasmania’s ‘First Class Volunteer’ and ‘Personality of the Year’ awards in 2017, and East Coast Tourism’s ‘Certificate of Appreciation’.

The Honour Roll of Tasmanian Tourism Champions celebrates the visionaries, the agitators, the entrepreneurs, the creators, and drivers, who have together created a modern tourism industry to be proud of.

Check out the Honour Roll here.

Tourism Minister’s Young Achiever

Each year as a part of the Tasmanian Tourism Awards, Tourism Industry Council Tasmania invites Tasmania's Minister for Tourism to recognise an outstanding young achiever in our industry.

The Tourism Minister’s Young Achiever is awarded to an exceptional emerging business leader, entrepreneur, or tourism professional, aged under 35-years, from across the Tasmanian tourism industry.

Many past recipients of this award have gone on to shape the Tasmanian tourism industry in very significant ways.

Anna Terry

2023 Tourism Minister's Young Achiever, Anna Terry

The 2023 Tourism Minister's Young Achiever is Anna Terry

Anna Terry epitomises everything this award is about.

Anna’s parents were pioneers of the Truffle Industry in Australia, having grown the nation’s first truffle in 1999 at the family’s farm. While Anna had traditionally managed all the company’s harvest, grading, and international exports, in 2020 Anna committed full time to developing The Truffle Farm in northern Tasmania, into the superb agri-tourism product that it is today.

Anna has played a large role in leading and developing agri-tourism in Tasmania, while at the same time continuing to contribute to the export standard for her industry.

The Farm offers tours and a farmgate shop, while championing local food, wine and other beverages.

Tourism Minister’s Young Achievers:

2023 Anna Terry

2022 Nunami Sculthorpe-Green
2021 Kylie Bell
2020 Amanda Sansom
2019 Bianca Welsh
2018 Jo Youl
2017 Tom Wotton
2016 Greg Irons
2015 Shannon Wells
2014 Travis Tiddy
2013 Kathryn McCann
2012 Greg Price

2011 Anthony O’Hern
2010 Rowena Nicholls
2009 David Gunton
2008 Clint Walker
2007 Ian Reed
2006 Joanna Gair
2005 Alison Stubbs
2004 Ben Kearney
2003 Daniel Alps
2002 Sam Denmead
2001 Daniel Leesong
1999 Rebecca Absolom
1998 Richard Crawford

While TICT does not undertake a formal nomination processes for these awards, suggestions from industry for worthy recipients are welcomed and can be submitted to