Tourism Industry Coincil Tasmania

Tasmanian Tourism Champion + Tourism Minister's Young Achiever

Tasmanian Tourism Champion

The Tasmanian Tourism Champion is the Tasmanian tourism industry’s highest individual honour.

This award is conferred each year by the Directors of Tourism Industry Council Tasmania to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Tasmanian tourism industry through their investments, leadership, advocacy, professional or voluntary service.

Marg Morgan.jpeg

2020 Tasmanian Tourism Champion, Margaret Morgan, with TICT Chair, Daniel Leesong

The 2020 Tasmanian Tourism Champion is the long-time Advocate for Tasmania's B&B Operators, and a stalwart of the East Coast tourism industry, Margaret Morgan

Margaret and her husband, Alan, moved to Tasmania in 2003 after careers in academia in Melbourne.

Seeing an opportunity to establish a small accommodation business to support their semi-retirement on the East Coast, the Morgan's engaged famed Tasmanian Architect, Luke Woolley to design a contemporary building at Coles Bay that could serve as both their home and business.

'Sheoak's on Freycinet' opened in 2003 as one of Tasmania's first premium hosted accommodation offerings, and the Morgan's retirement 'hobby' quickly became a full-time job and all consuming passion.

Over 17-years operating 'Sheoaks', Margaret was a driving force in nearly every key tourism structure on the East Coast, as well as a representative to State tourism bodies.

She was a Board Member and Chair of the Freycinet Coast Tourism Partnership, Member of the East Coast Tourism Industry Advisory Group, and a Foundation Board Member of the East Coast Regional Tourism Organisation.

Since 2005 Margaret has served as Tasmania's only board member of 'Hosted Accommodation Australia' - the national peak organisation for the Bed & Breakfast, Farmstay and Self-Catering Accommodation Industry.

From 2009 - 2014, Margaret represented Hosted Accommodation operators on the Board of Tourism Industry Council Tasmania. At the time serving as one of only two women on the TICT board.

Along the way, Sheoaks was recognised as one of Tasmania's premier hosted accommodation properties, winning Four Tasmanian Tourism Awards for Hosted Accommodation. Entering the Tasmanian Tourism Awards Hall of Fame in 2013, and winning a Bronze in the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards.

In early 2020, Margaret & Alan sold Sheoaks, and have now begun their well earned retirement.

The Honour Roll of Tasmanian Tourism Champions celebrate those Tasmanians who have gone above and beyond in their service to our industry and in building the world class tourism industry we have today.

2020 Margaret Morgan
2019 Vin Barron
2018 Simon Currant AM
2017 Josef Chromy OAM
2016 Peter Mooney
2015 Julian & Tracey Jacobs
2014 Brett Torossi
2013 Sarah Lebski, Bill Lark
2012 John Hamilton, Richard Davey
2011 Greg Farrell, Robert Pennicott
2010 Ian Johnstone, Ian Waller
2009 John Dabner, Kim Seagram AM

2008 Terry McDermott, Karen Rees
2007 Donald Wells, Peter Neilson
2006 Ian Rankine, Richard Sattler
2005 Brian Inder, Christine Dewer
2004 Tony Park, Richard Dax
2003 John Luscombe, Malcolm Wells
2002 Lloyd Clark
2001 Ken Latona
2000 David Reed
1999 Terry Martin
1998 Jenny Cox

Tasmania's Legends of Australian Tourism

The Australian Tourism Legend is the Australian tourism industry's highest individual honour recognising the personal contribution of individual Australians to the development and growth of the nation's tourism industry.

Awarded by the Australian Tourism Industry Council at the annual Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, we are very proud that two icons of Tasmania's tourism industry have been officially recognised as Legends of Australian Tourism:

2014 Robert Pennicott
2012 Simon Currant AM

Tourism Minister’s Young Achiever

Each year as a part of the Tasmanian Tourism Awards, Tourism Industry Council Tasmania invites Tasmania's Minister for Tourism to recognise an outstanding young achiever in our industry.

The Tourism Minister’s Young Achiever is awarded to an exceptional emerging business leader, entrepreneur, or tourism professional, aged under 35-years, from across the Tasmanian tourism industry.

Many past recipients of this award have gone on to shape the Tasmanian tourism industry in significant ways, including the 2001 Young Achiever and current Chairman of Tourism Industry Council Tasmania, Daniel Leesong.

Amanda Sansom, 2020 Tourism Minister's Young Achiever, with Premier & Tourism Minister, Peter Gutwein MP

The 2020 Tourism Minister's Young Achiever is Amanda Sansom

Amanda is the first woman to Captain a commercial cruise on Tasmania's iconic Gordon River, and an inspiration to all in pursuing your dreams.

Born into a family of boaties, Amanda discovered a passion for hospitality and tourism as a 20 year-old after taking a summer job with Strahan Village and Gordon River Cruises.

12 years on, Amanda is still in Strahan and now a Team Leader with Gordon River Cruises, overseeing all aspects of the iconic operation.

Along the way, Amanda has steadfastly pursued her ambition to be a boat captain, and in 2019 earned her Master 4 License, enabling her to take control and skipper Gordon River Cruise's 'Spirit of the Wild'. In the process Amanda has become one of the youngest commercial tour boat captains in Australia.

Tourism Minister’s Young Achievers:

2020 Amanda Sansom
2019 Bianca Welsh
2018 Jo Youl
2017 Tom Wotton
2016 Greg Irons
2015 Shannon Wells
2014 Travis Tiddy
2013 Kathryn McCann
2012 Greg Price
2011 Anthony O’Hern
2010 Rowena Nicholls

2008 David Gunton
2008 Clint Walker
2007 Ian Reed
2006 Joanna Gair
2005 Alison Stubbs
2004 Ben Kearney
2003 Daniel Alps
2002 Sam Denmead
2001 Daniel Leesong
1999 Rebecca Absolom
1998 Richard Crawford

While TICT does not undertake a formal nomination processes for these awards, suggestions from industry for worthy recipients are welcomed and can be submitted to